See details of route change here

Only one day left to go!
We have over 800 runners registered for the 2019 event so it promises to be a fantastic race. If you haven't registered yet, there's still time. Just click on the registration link below and remember, all the proceeds of the event go to charity. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2019.

Lot's of photos of the event are available here

Register Online

Run the line for charity!

Location: Cork City to Carrigaline


The Great Railway Run is a charity running event organised by the Carrigaline & District Lions Club with the support of Carrigaline Road Runners AC. The event features 10K and 25K distance options to accommodate as wide a range of participants as possible and takes place ​along the route of the old railway line from Cork city to Carrigaline. You can see a video of the old railway route here. The predominantly flat route passes through Blackrock, Mahon, Rochestown, Passage, Monkstown, Raffeen and Shanbally before finally chugging into Carrigaline. The 25K is an ideal event to test pace and fitness before the Cork City Marathon.

€3000 in prize money sponsored by Phelans Pharmacy.

In aid of Carrigaline Lions Youth Centre

Proceeds from this event will go towards the Carrigaline Lions Youth Centre Project which is a new state of the art Youth Facility in the heart of Carrigaline. You can take a virtual tour of the new centre here. The centre opened in summer 2015.

Race Courses

The 25K run will start at 9:30am in Centre Park Road and follow the old railway line that skirts the shores of Cork Harbour. The race will finish in Carrigaline at the Lions Youth Centre on Church Road.

The 10K run will be held on the same day along the latter part of the same route with a separate start in Monkstown at 11:00am and also finish in Carrigaline at the Lions Youth Centre on Church Road.

Entries will be limited for safety reasons so make sure to register early.

EventParticipant Limit

Those who pre-register on-line will qualify for a discount on the entry fee.

Transport will be provided for runners from Carrigaline to Cork and Monkstown before and after the 10K/25K races. Please indicate your transport requirements on the entry form. Where possible, participants are encouraged to provide their own transport as places are limited. See our FAQ page for more information.

Timing - Individual chip timing for all categories on professionally measured courses. The 10K will have a gun start time and chip finish times. The 25K will have chip start and finish times. There are lots of prizes in each category and every participant will receive a medal which we have commissioned especially for the event.

A big thanks to all those who took part in the 2018 event which was a great success with over 700 participants. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2019.